Monday, 22nd April 2019 18:11:44 GMT+0530
Ad Here

Prof. Goverdhan Mehta

Professor Mehta is a leading researcher in the area of Chemical Sciences and is presently CSIR Bhatnagar Fellow at the Indian Institute of Science.


Previously, Professor Mehta has been the Director of the Indian Institute of Science (1998-2005) and the President (Vice Chancellor) of the University of Hyderabad (1994-1998), two of India's most prestigious academic institutions. He is known as an institute builder and promoter of innovations in higher education and research. Professor Mehta has broad ranging research interests in organic chemistry with current focus on natural products synthesis and design of new strategies for total synthesis. He has authored over 400 research papers in leading international journals and is a much sought after speaker having delivered over 250 lectures in major conferences and institutions around the world. He has held visiting Chairs in USA, UK, France, Germany, Belgium, Japan, Taiwan and served on the Editorial boards of over a dozen leading international Journals in chemistry. He has been the President of the Indian National Science Academy (1999-2001); Fellow of the Royal Society (FRS); Foreign Member of the Russian Academy of Sciences; Fellow of TWAS and Honorary Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry. Professor Mehta is a recipient of over 40 medals/awards nationally and internationally, including the Trieste Prize in chemical sciences and the Centenary lectureship of the Royal Society of Chemistry. He has been conferred over a dozen Honorary Doctorate (D. Sc. h.c) degrees by universities in India and abroad. He has received the civilian honors from the Presidents of India (Padma Sri) and France (Chevalier de la Legion d'Honneur) for his multi-faceted contributions. Professor Mehta is actively engaged and Chaired several international scientific bodies, Government of India committees dealing with R & D, appointments and policy issues and private enterprises, particularly pharmaceutical companies, as a member of the Board of Directors and Scientific Advisory Boards.